An adult who reads children’s books?

By Rand

Well, occasionally I do, especially ones that capture my attention and bring me back to my youth.  No, I haven’t gone back to reading Dr. Seuss books or anything like that (although I do love those books).  When I first started at FRL, I would spend time shelving children’s books.  Shelving, for me, is the best way of knowing what our library has to offer.  I find things I would never have found otherwise, and most of the time that’s a good thing!  One children’s author/illustrator I’ve come to love is Peter McCarty.

Peter McCarty has written only a few books, such as the Caldecott Honor Award winning “Hondo and Fabian“, “T is for Terrible“,  “Little Bunny on the Move“,  and a new one, “Henry in Love“.  “Hondo and Fabian” is the first one that I read.  Very simple story lines, wonderful and simply drawn illustrations, and just a simple sense of overall innocence, as well as a hint of sadness that certain books can bring.  For me, it brings back something from my youth that I no longer have, and that is a sense of wonder and imagination.  Who knows?  Maybe I’m just jealous of anyone who can write or draw, as I have not one artistic bone in my body!  I think it just makes me realise that the most wonderful things in life are simple; just like these children’s books.

3 thoughts on “An adult who reads children’s books?

  1. I’m an adult who loves children’s books, too! The cover for “Hondo & Fabian” is great. I’ll have to check it out.

    Like

  2. I have collected children’s books for quite some time. I love them for the art and design, but also because they get to the point. I’m looking forward to this one. Thanks, Rand.

    Like

Leave a Reply

