Read ’em and Weep

By Sarah

Dear faithful readers, I need your help.  It’s an odd request I’ll admit, but I need some suggestions.  I have only read two books that have made me cry this year: Olive’s Ocean and Mockingjay (What?  Futuristic, dystopian novels don’t make you weep, too?)   Sure, I also teared up a little when I re-read Katsa and Po’s struggle at the end of Graceling, but it didn’t quench my thirst for that profound, moving experience that has been mostly absent from my reading life this year.

We have many people that ask us for recommendations in their search for something light to read, something funny, something cozy.  I’m on the exact opposite end of the spectrum: the more tissues I have to use, the better.  The puffier my eyes get, the happier I am.  It means I have found a book that engages and challenges me emotionally.  If you’re one of the oddballs like me, someone who’s always craving the next tear-jerker, I have some recommendations for you.  They’re all very different books that will (hopefully) make you cry for very different reasons.

 The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak:  A WWII novel narrated by Death.  Need I say more?  I stayed up until 2:00am reading this and came into work at the library the next morning with sore, puffy eyes.

How the Soldier Repairs the Gramophone by Saša Stanišić:  How do children experience war?  This novel depicts the Bosnian war of the ’90s through the eyes of a young boy growing up among the chaos.  It’s also a very genuinely funny book… that is, it’s funny during the parts you’re not crying.

Atonement by Ian McEwan: With about two sentences near the end, this book challenged the way I view fiction… and had me sobbing.

Cover of

If I Stay by Gayle Forman:  A teenage girl awakes in a limbo between life and death.  Her family has just been in a terrible car accident, her parents have died, and her brother has also been rushed the hospital.  Does she choose to stay or move on?

Driftless by David Rhodes: The characters in this novel slowly creep up on you, through their trials and tribulations in rural Southwestern Wisconsin.

If movies are more your preference, try these cryworthy films:

Now, what do you have for me?  I don’t like saccharine, schmaltzy sad things, nor do I usually cry over the run of the mill sad love stories of star-crossed lovers.  What would you recommend?  Or am I the only sad book fan out here?