Anagrams

By Faye

Anagrams are a words or phrases made by rearranging the letters to make a new word or phrase. The board game “Scrabble” works the same way.  If you have never played this game, the rules (and just about everything else about the game) can be for here.    It is a great way to build thinking skills and have a lot of fun. I love to make a “bingo, which involves using all seven tiles to make a word and being able to place it on the board. This entitles you  to an extra 50 points. The player with the most points wins the game.

7-letter word
photo-Faye Bumgarner

Friends and I have formed a group, about a dozen now, that are Scrabble enthusiasts and when we get together may play well into the morning hours. We usually have three games, up to four people to a game, playing.

But I digress – back to anagrams.  Have you ever taken words or phrases like “Happy Thanksgiving” or “Merry Christmas” and tried to make as many words out of the letters that you can? This past weekend the group had several children that came with a parent to the games. One parent had brought along the new Autobiography of Mark Twain Volume 1. The children were challenged to take Mark Twain’s real name, Samuel Langhorne Clemens, and see how many words they could form. They totally rocked! Together they found 327 new words. How many can you find without using the computer?

For more information and help check out these two books at the library:

The encyclopedia of games by Burns, Brian.

Everything Scrabble by Edley, Joe.

Be sure and check out the new Autobiography of Mark Twain. Volume 1  This book presents  Mark Twain’s authentic and unsuppressed voice, brimming with humor, ideas, and opinions, and speaking clearly from the grave 100 years later as he intended.

12 thoughts on “Anagrams

  1. I’m jealous, too! My husband and I LOVE Scrabble. I’m off to the MCPL non-fiction stacks to check out ‘Everything Scrabble’. 🙂

    Like

  2. I keep a couple of online Scrabble games going on all the time with out-of-state friends, so this blog post caught my attention. The game nights sound fun!

    Like

  3. I love Scrabble!! When I visit my Mom and sisters, we usually play a very heated game. We are quite competitive and we all like to win, so it’s usually a lot of fun. Note to Abby and Kristina: BRING IT!! lol

    Like

  4. I found a great game over the weekend. It’s called Bananagrams. I bought it at the Smoky Mountain Host in Macon County. If you like Scrabble, then you will probably like Bananagrams. The game comes in a yellow, banana shaped pouch. It’s very portable and would be great to take camping, etc. Check it out!!

    Like

  5. I love Scrabble. Ok, now I need an “s” to use at the bottom of “computer”. Then I need “x” on the triple word score. I just can’t think of a word, maybe you can!

    Like

Leave a Reply

