The World’s Worst Boss

picture of coffe cup - world's worst boss

By Don

Self-help and self-improvement, self… self… self…

I’ve read way too many books in these genres. I began with the authors, Dale Carnegie and Zig Ziglar, then John Naisbitt and Stephen Covey, then on to Sun Tzu, Napoleon Hill, Russell Conwell and Og Mandino. That’s all I can think of off the top of my head. No, I didn’t set out to read through their works; I was not conducting research. I may have read through a few of the authors on my own, but mostly I was forced to read them. You see, for a long dark and miserable period I worked in retail management. I still have nightmares.

There are a few authors and titles in these genres that impressed me. I like Og Mandino and Napoleon Hill. Russell Conwell’s, “Acre of Diamonds”, really captured my attention. It amazes me that not one of our libraries has this book. Though most of these types of authors just echo and twist biblical proverbs, Conwell and Mandino, don’t pull punches. They make you look straight in the mirror. Their words force you to look at your bad traits and habits and encourage you to do something positive about them. “To do something” is the key to the phrase.

Where did all of this come from all of a sudden? When I checked my email the other day, there was a post from David Lee King that led me to a post of Seth Godin’s that led me to start thinking about continuing to be miserable or do something about it. Usually, I just blow off this type of article, but I liked this one, even if it is poorly written. Since it’s the first of the year, I decided to share a portion of Seth’s post with you.

[“The world’s worst boss”

That would be you.

Even if you’re not self-employed, your boss is you. You manage your career, your day, your responses. You manage how you sell your services and your education and the way you talk to yourself.

Odds are, you’re doing it poorly.

If you had a manager that talked to you the way you talked to you, you’d quit. If you had a boss that wasted as much as your time as you do, they’d fire her. If an organization developed its employees as poorly as you are developing yourself, it would soon go under….] The entire article can be found here (“The world’s worst boss”)

For a few months, I worked with a young man from India. He talked all the time, non-stop. Most of what he said went in one ear and out the other. Two statements he made have never left me; “We don’t know what we don’t know.” and “If we do nothing, there is a good chance nothing will come of it. If we do something, there is a good chance something will come of it.” The statements seemed elementary, almost foolish at the time. Now, for me, they are profound.

You continue to fret and complain, yet you do nothing different to help cause a different outcome. Einstein called this insanity. Some of us go about day to day doing nothing more than getting by. You might say that you’re comfortable where you are in life. If you really are, good for you!

The bottom line is it’s your life; ultimately you are your own boss. It’s all up to you.

3 thoughts on “The World’s Worst Boss

  1. Don, when I started reading your post and all of the titles you mentioned, I was thrown back to my OWN career in retail management. I’ve moved on to library work myself. And here I thought I was the only one that ran from retail management to something a bit more sane!

    Like

Leave a Reply

