And the winner is…

By Sarah

The Youth Media Awards are kind of like the librarian’s version of the Oscars.  (Minus the fancy dresses, glitz & glamour, and the red carpet.)  Just two days ago, Fontana Regional Libraries were closed due to snow.  Where was I to be found?  I was on the edge of my seat as the American Library Association announced the winners of these prestigious awards such as the Newbery and Caldecott medals.  And by “edge of my seat,” I mean on my couch in my pajamas, constantly refreshing their Twitter page to view the latest winner.

Clare Vanderpool won the Newbery Medal for her debut book, Moon Over Manifest.  The novel tells the story of a Depression-era girl named Abilene, who spends a summer apart from her father and solving a mystery in Manifest, Kansas.  I put this on my “to read”  list immediately and can’t wait to sit down with it.

This year’s Caldecott Medal went to  Erin E. Stead for her woodblock and pencil illustrations in A Sick Day for Amos McGeeThe book is the debut of her husband, Philip C. Stead, who wrote the text with his wife’s artistic style in mind.   This is another one I’m eager to get my hands on – just check out that beautiful cover.

The Printz Award, which is given out for excellence in young adult literature, went to Paulo Bacigalupi’s futuristic dystopia, Ship Breaker.  People are forced to gather scrap metal from beached oil tankers in order to make a living, until a mysterious girl appears in a shipwreck.

The ALA hands out many other youth awards, and you can find the complete list of this year’s winners at the ALA page.  We have many of the titles in the Fontana Regional Library system, so if something catches your eye, then be sure to check our catalog or call your local library.

3 thoughts on “And the winner is…

  1. Sarah, this is a fast read packed with so much interesting information. I don’t know how you keep up with it. Did I see the word Twitter in there? Amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

