Chocolate/beet cupcakes with cauliflower/cream cheese icing!

By Elizabeth

Yummy!

At our Valentine’s Party for the children, I asked for healthy snacks from our Moms and Dads.  One of the best examples were these great tasting cupcakes with sneaky servings of vegetables!

After cooling, add 1/2 cup puree beets to the dry chocolate cupcake mix.  Next came the cooled  puree 1/2 cup cauliflower into the icing of cream cheese!

Children and adults alike enjoyed these oxymoron cupcakes!

Cook up your own favorites with your children using from any of our great selection of cookbooks for children! Let me know what veggies you are able to sneak into snacks!

More Healthy Homestyle Cooking by Evelyn Tribole

American Medical Association family health cookbook  by Melanie Barnard

Cool Meals to Start Your Wheels by Lisa Wagner

4 thoughts on “Chocolate/beet cupcakes with cauliflower/cream cheese icing!

  1. I don’t know, Elizabeth.

    To me, beets always taste and smell like dirt. Does that flavor show up in the cupcakes? What’s the point of a healthy cupcake?

    Like

  2. Hey Elizabeth, This recipe sounds very good to me, but I love veggies. Another book that you might like is Deceptively Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld. She is big on sneaking veggies into comfort foods.

    Like

  3. I see Loretta already mentioned the book I was thinking of when I saw that blog title!
    Not sure I’d try to sneak cauliflower past my husband this way, but we do like trying to make desserts a little less sugary- thanks for the suggestions!

    Like

Leave a Reply

