Gone, and a cloud in my heart.

By Sarah

I’ve taken that Alfred Tennyson quote out of context, but it sums up well what I’ve been feeling for a few weeks.  For over three and a half years, I have been the branch librarian at the Albert Carlton-Cashiers Community Library.  However, I have made the decision to accept a job in Virginia and will be leaving Fontana Regional Library.  It was an extremely hard decision to make, but one that I felt I had to make due to personal circumstances.

Now before I need to bust out the tissue box, let me tackle one last subject: goodbyes, farewells, auf wiedersehens, and goodnights.

Goodbyes:

Chris Raschka’s illustrations for The Hello, Goodbye Window (written by Norton Juster) won the Caldecott medal in 2006.  In it, a little girl peeps through her grandma and grandpa’s window to say, well, hello and goodbye.  The vibrant, almost messy colors depict poignant scenes, including the one where the girl’s parents come to pick her up and she must say goodbye to her grandparents:

You can be happy and sad at the same time, you know.  It just happens that way sometimes.

Farewells:

The Bride’s Farewell by Meg Rosoff depicts a more dramatic separation.  Young Pell flees her town and family on the eve of her wedding.  She struggles to find her way and define herself in a countryside that looks down upon her for being a single woman out on her own. For a book that takes place solidly in the real world (no fantasy here), there was almost something ethereal or magic-like about it. Rosoff’s style seemed to build off of the best fairy tale and folk traditions to create a new narrative that seems familiar without being cliche.

Auf wiedersehens:

With Fontana Regional Library’s subscription to Byki, you can learn how to say goodbye in over 70 languages.  For free.  (I also now know how to say “I’m sorry,” and “Where is the bathroom?” in Polish.)  Call your local library for more information about signing up for a free Byki account!

Goodnights:

Taking this one a little less literally, a good night for me would replicate one from my childhood: sitting out watching a meteor shower with my family late into a summer night.  For those of you who can’t wait to skywatch until warm weather and a meteor shower coincide, you might want to check out this great astronomical atlas called The Night Sky: Month by Month by Will Gater.  It features illustrations of stars, prominent constellations, and meteor showers for each month between 2010 and 2019.  That should hold you awhile.

And with that, what can I say about my time at Fontana?  A new librarian couldn’t have asked for a better way to start her career.  My deepest thanks to the entire FRL staff, the Cashiers community, and considering this venue, my fellow FRL bloggers.  Come May 20th, I will be gone with a cloud in my heart.

Let's start the show!

13 thoughts on “Gone, and a cloud in my heart.

  1. A sad day… you will be greatly missed! Thanks for all your help and encouragement, particularly with things technological. I wish you a stellar life in Virginia and hope you can come back for a visit now and then!

    Like

  2. Oh, Sarah! We will all miss you but wish you well in your new adventure–and your new beautiful state of Virginia! Maybe we’ll come visit…

    Like

  3. Sarah, you will really be missed. I too want to thank you for all your help with blogging. We learned some new things together and it was fun, aggravating but fun. 🙂 Best wishes with your new job, I know you will do wonderful.

    Like

  4. Sarah…….we hardly knew ye!
    And we sure are going to miss you. You have been such a wonderful addition to our library. This is a tremendous opportunity for you and we wish all good things to you.

    Like

  5. Oh Sarah… I was going to say exactly what Luke said! No really. I haven’t used this one in a while, “We miss you already!” It somehow seems appropriate. All the best to you!

    Like

  6. Sarah, you will TRULY be missed! I wish you all the best in your new adventure, though, and look forward to keeping in touch (and seeing what you’re reading!) on Goodreads.

    p.s. Think of me if you find new great Indian cookbooks. 🙂

    Like

  7. Y’all are too much! I’ve been telling myself I can’t cry until the last week! But seriously, thanks for all your kind comments. It’s sincerely been my pleasure working with everyone. *sniff*

    Like

  8. Sarah! What a sweet goodbye message… I’m going to miss you, I’ll miss all the energy you radiate through our library system!
    Virginia will be lucky to have you… I’m wishing you all the best in the world…

    Like

  9. Sarah;

    Gone but not forgotten:
    May the road you travel be all that you wish
    May you have health and happiness
    and may Gods love hold you in the palms of his hands
    all the best to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

