Notes on Watching Jason and the Argonauts

By Loretta

I’ve been watching movies again.  I’m sorry. I can’t help it.  I love the old mythology genre, with their ginormous lumbering monsters and birds with wingspans so great, they have trouble getting off the ground.

I recently watched Jason and the Argonauts – again!   It was filmed in 1963, so if you haven’t seen it, I think you can imagine the special effects.

I made notes.

–          The High Priests all hale from Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

–          Hydra had a whole lot of shakin’ goin’ on.  “Here’s your sword, Jason!  Stab here, no there, no here, no there.”

–          I didn’t know granite would burn.

–          It’s always Medea; she always gets it!

–          Them bones, them bones, them dry bones – you can’t keep a good man down!

–          “I haven’t had a hot meal in twenty years, you Harpies!”

–          They threw Sponge Neptune Squarepants in the water and he swelled to 100 times his normal size!

–          A passing sailor was heard to say, “If anything else comes up out of the sea, I’m going home on the Super Chief.”

–          From the front of the temple, the Goddess looks just like Cindy Brady.  Would that make her followers the Brady Bunch?

If you are easily entertained, as I am, give this one a try.  But give me time to watch it just once more before I bring it back!

2 thoughts on “Notes on Watching Jason and the Argonauts

  1. Wow! I haven’t seen “Jason” since I was a kid. I remember being seriously messed up by the skeleton fight.

    The Ray Harryhausen movies (particularly “The Golden Voyage of Sinbad”) inspired a friend and I to make a 90-second movie called “March of the Fruit Salad” in high school. This little epic took over four months of meticulous, teeth-grindingly slow shutter progression and nearly collapsed our minds.

    Thanks for the tip, Loretta — I can’t wait to see “Jason” again!

    Like

    • That explains it! Is there any way your fans could see this cinematic masterpiece? 90 seconds is just about right for my attention span.

      I hope you enjoy Jason as much as I have! If he doesn’t satisfy your appetite for campy cinema, there’s always The Seven Voyages of Sinbad.

      Like

Leave a Reply

